The 2017 Centennial Coal Lithgow Golf Club champion for 2017 is Andrew Burton who finished a whopping 10 shots ahead of the field in what was a dramatic charged Championship with rounds having to be postponed due to the weather

Burton finished with a four round total of 298 and said: “It has been tough going with the weather and the tough conditions. It was disappointing that Ian (Nightingale) had to pull out during the third round. “It is good to win the title again against some very good golfers.”

Nightingale who was the defending champion was trailing by one shot when he had to pull out after four holes due to a back complaint.

Burton was too consistent with the talented golfer adding this year’s title to those of he won in 2008 and 12. He has had a big year having a number of Opens around the district.

Runner-up was Steve Hall on 308. It has been a good comeback Hall who is a four time past winner and was playing his first championship in a number of years.


The B grade title provided high excitement when the winner Travis Cameron who was playing his first championship and a past winner Mitch Luka both finished with 333.

A three hole play-off failed to separate them with sudden death called for. Cameron took the title on the first hole leaving Luka as runner-up.


C-grade was also close with Al Seymour finishing with 393, one better than runner-up Robert “Darky” Millar.


The handicap titles was just as competitive with the A grade title going to Max Nightingale on 289. Nightingale has plenty of experience having won the club championship on seven occasions.

Runner-up was the consistent Troy Luka on 293 nett.

B-grade winner was Brett Scanlon on 290 nett from Kobe Hunter on 292 nett.

C-grade handicap champion is last year’s scratch winner Gary Marshall on 313 nett one in front of Dick Mara.


Veterans scratch winner is Steve Hall with the handicap trophy going to Max Nightingale.


The junior winner is Kobe Hunter.


The final round 18 hole handicap winners and runners up were:

A grade: Brian Judge 69 nett on a countback from Rod Bright.

B-grade: Greg Dykes 68 nett and Kobe Hunter 73 nett ocb.

C-grade: Peter Haley 68 nett and Trevor Cameron 71 nett.

Best A, B and C winners were Bill Oldfield 73, Brian Bourke 81 and Rob Hawks 89.


The March monthly medals sponsored by Ron Evans Painting will be played this Saturday April 8th.


The annual presentation for all the major events during 2016 and 17 will be held on Saturday 8th April starting at 4.30 pm and everyone is invited.