The Lithgow Golf Club Championships concluded over the weekend with Andrew Burton warding off all comers to make it back to back titles.

At the halfway 36 hole mark Burton, Steve Hall and Bill Oldfield were locked together and again after Saturday’s third round the three could not be separated.

On the final day, the trio were paired together with the conditions tough due to strong wins and bare fairways due to the recent dry spell but the greens were superb. Oldfield fell away and it was a great tussle between Burton and Hall who are both past champions. Burton edged away to a three shot lead and he held on to take the club’s major title.

It was a great effort to go back to back with the title Burton’s fourth and he again showed that he is the club’s most consistent performer. He finished with a four round total of 291 followed by runner up on 294.

On hand to present Burton and the rest of the winners was Mitch Luka representing sponsor Centennial Coal with the Club thankful for their continued support of their biggest event on their calendar.

The B grade scratch champion is Corey Oldfield who is one of Lithgow’s good young all round sportsmen and has a good future in the game. Oldfield had a score of 334 with the runner up being Brett Scanlan on 336.

C grade champion is Dean Stafford who has been a consistent performer in this grade with his winning score being 367 with a big gap back to runner up Paul Cinat on 387.

Handicap section:
Harry Bender brandish a set of new clubs was consistent over the four rounds to finish with 280 nett from runner up Justin Nelson on 291 nett on a countback.

The B grade winner was Brad Gordon with a net score of 286 with veteran golfer Bob Ritchie runner up on 291 on a countback.

In C grade, Dick Mara was best with 298 with runner up Tom Jennings next best on 311.

Other titles:
Vets scratch: Steve Hall.
Vets handicap: Rob Ritchie.
Junior scratch: Ben Oldfield.

Third round: (Handicap winner, runner up and scratch winners):
A grade: Harry Bender 68 nett, Johnathan Van Veen and Darren Hunter 72.
B grade: Brett Scanlan 67 nett, Josh Newman 68 ocb and Brett Scanlan 79.
C grade: Tom Jennings 76 nett, John Griffiths 77 ocb and Paul Cinat 96.

Nearest the pins: Dean Stafford, Josh Newman, Bob Ritchie, Don Farnsworth (hole in one) and Harry Bender.
Balls cut out on 72 nett.

Fourth round:
A grade:Justin Nelson 71 nett ocb, Harry Bender 71 and Chris Neville 73.
B grade: Scott Hunter 66 nett, Greg Jackson 68 nett and Corey Oldfield 81.
C grade: Dick Mara 75 nett, Tom Jennings 77 nett and Dick Mara 101.

Nearest the pins: Ross Harrington (2), Paul Stewart, Travis Cameron and Ben Oldfield.
Balls cut out on 74 nett.

There was a good roll up for the presentation with captain Max Nightingale presenting all the major winners with their awards.