In one of the toughest Lithgow Golf Club championships played in many years, reigning champion Andrew Burton again showed what a class act he is by leading from start to finish to take out his sixth title. The greens were in superb condition although the pins were in some extremely testing positions making the winners’ scores all the more meritorious.
Burtons first title was back in 2008 and has now won his last four titles in a row.

“I feel extremely proud to again lift the trophy and my aim is now to win next year to go one in front of Steve Hall who has also won four in a row.
“It was tough going over the last round and at one stage Justin (McCann) had hit the front.
“I played par golf over the last nine holes to pull away from Justin who had played great.”

The consistent Burton finished his four rounds with a total of 294 finishing seven ahead of runner up Justin McCann on 301.

It was a good attendance at the presentation with club captain Justin Nelson thanking Championships sponsor Centennial Coal for their continued support.
Besides Burton and McCann others to receive trophies were A grade handicap winner Troy Luka who put four consistent rounds together for a 287 nett.
Runner up was Greg Hunter who turned the clock back with a score of 293 nett.

The B grade scratch title went to Scott Hamment who also led from the start for a score of 290.
Runner up was Greg Jackson on 303.
Handicap winner was Young Lleyton Guest with a score of 296 nett with Gary Keen runner up on 304 nett.

C grade champion was Brian Giblett who was a clear winner on 386 with runner up Gary Marshall back on 425.
Handicap winner was Mick Stafford with 311 nett with the runner up title going to Steve Jennings on 323 nett.

The Vets scratch went to Bill Oldfield while Scott Hamment took the handicap title.

The junior scratch went to Ben Oldfield.